UN Secretary-General appoints high-level panel on post-2015 development agenda

United Nations, New York – United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon today announced the members of a High-level Panel to advise on the global development agenda beyond 2015, the target date for the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs). The Secretary-General has appointed three co-chairs: President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono of Indonesia; President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf of Liberia; and Prime Minister David Cameron of the United Kingdom. The full list of Panel members is available below.

"I have asked my High-level Panel to prepare a bold yet practical development vision to present to Member States next year," said the UN chief. "I look forward to the Panel's recommendations on a global post-2015 agenda with shared responsibilities for all countries and with the fight against poverty and sustainable development at its core."

The Panel will hold its first meeting at the end of September in the margins of the annual high-level debate of the UN General Assembly. It is expected to submit a report to the Secretary-General in the first half of 2013.

The Panel is part of the Secretary-General's post-2015 initiative mandated by the 2010 MDG Summit. Member States have called for open, inclusive consultations involving civil society, the private sector, academia and research institutions from all regions, in addition to the UN system, to advance the development agenda beyond 2015.

The work of the Panel will reflect new development challenges while also drawing on experience gained in implementing the MDGs, both in terms of results achieved and areas for improvement.

The Panel's work will be closely coordinated with that of the intergovernmental working group tasked to design Sustainable Development Goals, as agreed at the Rio +20 conference. The reports of both groups will be submitted to Member States for their further deliberations.

<u>The Secretary-General's High-level Panel of Eminent Persons</u> <u>on the Post 2015 Development Agenda</u>

Susilo Bambang YUDHOYONO	PRESIDENT OF INDENOSIA	Co-President
Ellen Johnson SIRLEAF	PRESIDENT OF LIBERIA	Co-President
David CAMERON	PREMIER MINISTRE OF THE	Co-President
	UNITED KINGDOM	
Fulbert Gero AMOUSSOUGA	BENIN	member
Vanessa Petrelli CORREA	BRAZIL	member
Yingfan WANG	CHINA	member
Maria Angela HOLGUIN	COLOMBIA	member
Gisela ALONSO	CUBA	member
Jean-Michel SEVERINO	FRANCE	member
Horst KOHLER	GERMANY	member
Naoto KAN	JAPAN	member
H.M Queen RAINA of Jordan	JORDAN	member
Betty MAINA	KENYA	member
Abhijit BANERJEE	INDIA	member
Andris PIEBALGS	LATVIA	member
Patricia ESPINOSA	MEXICO	member
Paul POLMAN	NETHERLANDS	member
Ngozi OKONJO-IWEALA	NIGERIA	member
Elvira NABIULLINA	RUSSIAN FEDERATION	member
Graça MACHEL	SOUTH AFRICA	member
Sung-Hwan KIM	REPUBLIC OF KOREA	member
Gunilla CARLSSON	SWEDEN	member
Emilia PIRES	TIMOR-LESTE	member
Kadir TOPBAŞ	TURKEY	member
John PODESTA	UNITED STATES OF	member
	AMERICA	
Tawakel KARMAN	YEMEN	member
Amina J. MOHAMMED	BM	member